The Juvenile Assessment Center Key Staff

The Juvenile Assessment Center is pleased to announce the appointment of Molli Barker as Executive Director. Barker succeeds Kira Suurvarik, JAC’s inaugural director, who departed last August. Barker was selected by a broad-based selection committee who was drawn to her experience in enhancing existing programs to better serve community needs and direct youth and families to services before involvement in the juvenile justice system. 

A Transition Committee comprised of board members, staff representatives and long-time partners conducted an internal audit to establish priority qualifications and experience which directed the recruitment and selection process.  The Transition Committee then held a nationwide search for a new Executive Director.

Barker is experienced in collaboration; partnering across sectors to address systemic youth issues. She worked previously with a community planning and funding organization, spent over a year assisting the Department of Homeland Security’s Blue Campaign and is a Fellow with the Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy’s Reducing Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Juvenile Justice Program. Barker holds a Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Colorado.


Molli Barker, Executive Director | 

Zach Abdelbaki, Law Enforcement Program Director | 

Sarah Troy, Community Assessment Program Director|

Allie Taggart, Director of Operations |

Angela Lewis, 1st Shift Team Lead |

Brittany Herrera, 2nd Shift Team Lead |

Richard Murphy, 3rd Shift Team Lead |

The Juvenile Assessment Center Board of Directors

We are excited to announce our newest member, Sarah Ericson, Deputy District Attorney with the 18th Judicial District Attorney’s Office and Director of the Diversion Counseling Program

Kevin B. Duffy – Chairperson
Captain | Douglas County Sheriff’s Office

Larry Etheridge – Vice Chairperson
Bureau Chief | Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office
Robert Stef – Treasurer

Lieutenant | Aurora Police Department
Michael DeGretto
Administrator | Arapahoe County Department of Human Services

Pamela Gorden Wakefield
Attorney | Wakefield & Wakefield, P.C. Attorneys at Law
Dr. Thomas Mayes
Senior Pastor | Living Water Christian Center Church
José Esquibel
Director of the Office of Community Engagement | Office of the Attorney General
Austin Topolnicki
Chief Operating Officer | Shiloh House
Sarah Ericson
Deputy District Attorney & Director of the Diversion Counseling Program |  18th Judicial District Attorney’s Office